What exactly is “Magic”?

I bet when you hear that word, you think of something along the lines of Harry potter wizardry. The impossible which does not exist in the real word. Maybe its more than that. Maybe It IS real and surrounds us all everyday. I think so. I think magic is the miracle of a baby saying their first word or that tingly feeling you get when you fall in love. Magic is something great which cannot be explained, just like love! It is a strong human emotion/ feeling that is as great as and linked to love. It can come in the tiniest of forms and be constantly taken for granted. As I wait at the train station on my way to rehearsals, I notice the sun mixing with night, trying to blaze its last pulse of energy through the clouds (Usually they don’t mix because the sun and moon are actually brothers whom fell out years ago because one wanted light and the other wanted darkness but their parents made them share which is how night and day is explained! – See you learn stuff in my blogs!) Anyway, I don’t want to get into the whole family fallout between moon and sun but one this one occasion, I guess you could call it “Twilight” *Not the film, thats rubbish!* looked beautiful/ “Magical” if you will therefore anything which holds beauty and makes you happy is magical. Perhaps not to everyone but then everyone has their own kind of magical ideas working for them.

*Sorry – Boring Girly bit*

I once read a poem by William Wordsworth called ‘Idiot Boy.’ It was about an autistic boy who was sent by his mother to fetch the doctor because the neighbour was unwell but after serveral hours he had not returned and was lost in the woods. He eventually got home and was seemily unaffected by the ordeal and was smiley and oblivious to the true world. consequently, the neighbour had worried so much about the boy that she was up out of bed and by the time he got back, was well again. I think this highlights the magic of being ignorant to the horror and fear which the world can bring and being in touch with the beauty and healing power of nature.